The Atkins diet starting with Phase 1 Induction and ending with Phase 4 Maintenance is a four-stage diet program designed for losing weight by limiting carbohydrates in terms of grams. The following are suggestions for the menus of Atkins diet foods to eat:

  • All proteins foods like poultry, fish, beef, and pork.
  • Most vegetables like lettuce, broccoli, spinach, and asparagus.
  • Fruits like pears, avocados, and raspberries.
  • Dairy products like butter and cheese.
  • Whole grain foods.


  • Phase 1: Induction
  • Phase 2: OWL (Ongoing Weight Loss)
  • Phase 3: Pre-maintenance
  • Phase 4: Maintenance


This is the Atkins diet starting phase where not more than 20 grams of carbohydrates are allowed. It is the stage where significant weight loss is noted as the limited amount of carbohydrates in the diet start promoting the burning of fats. This is a short phase that lasts about 2 weeks. Among the Atkins diet foods to eat during this phase are green, leafy vegetables that act as the sole source of carbohydrates.


This phase is similar to phase 1 except that the weight loss is slower and steady, owing to the addition of more nutrient-rich foods that increase carbohydrates by at least 5 grams daily until the weight loss pace slows down. The Atkins diet recipes provide several options of highly recommended foods to eat during the OWL phase. This is the phase that sets the tone for weight control because this stage gives you the freedom to control your carbohydrate intake. When you find yourself approaching 5 to 10 pounds of your desired weight goal, you are ready to move to the third phase of the program.


In this third phase of the Atkins Diet Program, carbohydrates are increased by adding 10 additional grams to the 5-gram increments per day that you began in the OWL Phase. This is done to reach the Atkins Carbohydrate Equilibrium (ACE), where neither weight gain nor weight loss is observed. New foods are slowly added, and the diet is maintained this way until the desired weight is attained. Weight loss at this stage is gradual and will tell you that you are well on your way towards perfecting healthy eating habits and achieving weight control.


This final phase comes right after successful maintenance of your weight goal in phase 3. At this point, you will be able to know exactly how many grams of carbohydrates you can consume without fear of gaining weight. You will simply focus on your ACE (Atkins Carbohydrate Equilibrium) in this last phase, and healthy eating habits will now become a way of life. To best achieve this healthy lifestyle, due consideration must be given to the recommended Atkins diet foods to eat for maximum health.

The Atkins Nutritional Approach to healthy weight loss is that the program can be started at any of the four phases. However, it is advisable to do the Atkins diet starting with the Induction Phase because this stage triggers weight loss. There are plenty of Atkins diet foods to eat and enjoy, and they will transform your kitchen and help you resist those tempting unhealthy foods.

Atkins diet starting lessons are offered by experts at the Atkins University. Also available are resources for helpful Atkins diet recipes to guide you through the Atkins Diet. So, wait no more. Turn your life into a healthier one with the Atkins diet starting today!

****** UPDATE ******
Recent scientific studies have indicated that the Atkins diet is not healthy, and can lead to increased cardiovascular disease. While this diet may help you lose weight, there can be other health complications. Additionally, many users of the Atkins diet have difficulty with the maintenance phases, and the result is weight regain.

If you have any questions about Atkins diet foods to eat, or the potential health consequences of the Atkins diet recipes, please write to us. If you are planning on trying the Atkins diet despite the health concerns, and have questions about Atkins diet starting, let us know.